Home

When you look at this picture where would you like to be?

I think I might like to be on the tire swing with my hair blowing in the breeze. Or taking a walk on that road with a friend. I can imagine myself playing a game of tag with my children. Or sitting behind a hay bale reading a book.

But that building in the center of the picture doesn’t appeal to me anymore. I wouldn’t want to be there.

When I see that building it makes me think of a small group of people sitting quietly in pews. They smile obligingly at one another. They sing songs about how they need to be better people, and how they long for heaven because here isn’t where they belong.

What do you think about church?

“But a short time elapsed after the death of the great reformer of the Jewish religion, before his principles were departed from by those who professed to be his special servants, and perverted into an engine for enslaving mankind, and aggrandizing their oppressors in Church and State.”  ~ Thomas Jefferson

“All national institutions of churches, whether Jewish, Christian, or Turkish, appear to me no other than human inventions, set up to terrify and enslave mankind, and monopolize power and profit.” ~ Thomas Paine

“Church isn’t where you meet. Church isn’t a building. Church is what you do. Church is who you are. Church is the human outworking of the person of Jesus Christ. Let’s not go to Church, let’s be the Church.” ~ Bridget Willard

Leave a Reply

