Home

There was a time in my life when I thought that it was foolish to think with the heart. After all, isn’t it the heart that so often gets us into trouble? Or is it?

Here is what I’ve learned.

The brain with it’s leanings toward logic and knowledge often guides us poorly. Logic tells me that if I speak out for the taunted, unwanted, and abused that I will possibly become the next victim. I know this is true as I have experienced and witnessed the ill-treatment of those defending the misused.

My brain tells me to be silent.

But the heart … it goes beyond the brain … it feels.

“The human heart feels things the eyes cannot see, and knows what the mind cannot understand.” ~ Robert Valett

My heart encourages me to stand up for the broken and hurting. My heart aches for the reviled. My heart tells me that EVERYONE needs love … regardless of age, race, religion, gender or sexual orientation. My heart knows that to say nothing is wrong.

My heart says speak out.

No, it is not foolish to think with the heart. It is quite possibly the wisest thing to do.

Leave a Reply

