Home

I was raised in a patriarchal family cult in the forest miles away from civilization. My only friends were my siblings. I was trained to be co-dependent. I was taught women were second-class. I was raised to be a doormat. This is my past – a past filled with spiritual and emotional abuse.

I’ve left the false teachings, but still have a lot of emotional baggage. I am still harassed by family members. I still feel the pain.

I know there are others like me, many others. Your background may be different, it may be similar, but what we have in common is emotional abuse. We’ve been manipulated. We’ve been wounded. We have scars. We’ve been trained to fear. Trained not to question. Trained not to speak out.

I’m breaking free of my toxic past, but it still haunts me. I’m scared – scared of being hurt. People can be really mean. Some do it intentionally, others out of ignorance. It’s just hard to trust. So here I am. I’m on a journey of spiritual and personal discovery.

I believe in God.

I believe in love.

I believe they are one and the same.

3 thoughts on “Coming from

  1. Thank you for your words. I’m happy you found my blog and now that I have found yours. I’m here too, sister, trying to heal from the past and move into a healthier spiritual frame of mind. Thanks for being brave. I look forward to reading more of your story.

  2. I just found this post, and I want to repeat Rebecca’s words…I’m here too. I am trying to heal and move forward to healthy relationships and healthy emotions. 🙂 I’m so glad to see other bloggers really opening up and writing hard things! it’s so good to know I’m not alone; that we’re not alone.

  3. Thank you both for your support. We are lonely, but we are not alone. So many of us are scarred and scared. It is hard to open up but I feel it is a necessary part of the healing process. I appreciate your comments. 🙂

Leave a Reply

